John Dodds

Non-executive chairman (currently executive chairman)

Appointed: 2010 (non-executive director) and 2011 (chairman)

John retired in March 2010 from Kier Group plc, the construction and property services group, after serving for seven years as group chief executive. He worked for Kier, both in the UK and overseas, for nearly 40 years and held a main board position through the employee buy-out process in 1992 and the subsequent flotation of the group on the London Stock Exchange in 1996.

John is non-executive chairman of Lagan Construction Holdings Limited and a non-executive director of Newbury Racecourse plc.

John has been acting as executive chairman since 28 March 2017 on a temporary basis due to the temporary leave of absence of Ian Lawson as chief executive officer on grounds of physical ill health.

Ian Lawson

Chief executive officer (currently on temporary leave of absence)

Appointed: 2013

Ian was previously a main board director of Kier Group plc, where he enjoyed a 13-year career. He was first appointed to the board of Kier as executive director in 2005 with responsibility initially for its services division and later he also assumed responsibility for the property division. Before joining Kier in 2000, Ian had a successful career at Bickerton Group plc where he was managing director.

Ian, who is a fellow of both The Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors (FRICS) and the Chartered Institute of Building (FCIOB), has a wide range of skills and experience from working within the construction industry for more than 35 years.

Ian has been, since 28 March 2017, on a temporary leave of absence due to physical ill health.

Alan Dunsmore

Group finance director (currently acting chief executive officer)

Appointed: 2010

Alan joined the Group from Smiths Group plc. He joined Smiths Group's medical division in 1995, holding various positions throughout the business and from 2004 was director of finance for Smiths Detection.

Prior to joining Smiths, he was with Coopers and Lybrand in Glasgow, where he qualified as a chartered accountant in 1992.

Alan has been acting as chief executive officer since 28 March 2017 on a temporary basis due to the temporary leave of absence of Ian Lawson as chief executive officer on grounds of physical ill health.

Adam Semple, Group financial controller, has been acting as Group finance director on a temporary basis since 28 March 2017. Adam joined the Group in 2013 from Firth Rixson Group, prior to which he was with PwC in both Leeds and London, where he qualified as a chartered accountant in 2002.

Ian Cochrane

Chief operating officer

Appointed: 2013

Ian joined the Group in 2007, following the acquisition of Fisher Engineering. Ian worked at Fisher Engineering for 26 years, starting in the drawing office and progressing to managing director in October 2007. He previously held the position of Group operations director.

Ian has a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of the business and has been involved in many major projects in the UK and Ireland, representing a range of market sectors.

Derek Randall

Executive director and managing director at JSW Severfield Structures

Appointed: 2008

Derek previously held the position of executive director for business development until his appointment in December 2013 as managing director of JSW Severfield Structures Limited (JSSL), our joint venture in India.

Before joining the Group, most of Derek's career was with Corus Group (now Tata Steel) where his last position was as commercial director of the long products division.

Derek has held a number of international board positions with Corus and served on the executive council of the Steel Construction Institute.

Kevin Whiteman

Senior independent director

Appointed: 2014

A chartered engineer, Kevin was chief executive of Kelda Group and Yorkshire Water for a period of eight years. Kevin was non-executive chairman of both companies from 2010 to March 2015.

In 2013 he became chairman of the privately owned NG Bailey. Kevin was previously chief executive officer for the National Rivers Authority, regional director of the Environment Agency, and has held a number of senior positions within British Coal. He was also chairman for Wales and West Gas Networks (UK) Limited, and has been a trustee for WaterAid UK.

Tony Osbaldiston

Non-executive director (chairman of the audit committee)

Appointed: 2014

A chartered accountant having qualified with PwC, Tony was previously finance director of Max Factor UK, Volvo Cars UK, Raymarine plc and FirstGroup plc. He was also deputy group chief executive officer and chief executive officer of FirstGroup America.

Tony has been a non-executive director and chairman of the audit committee of BSS Group plc, and chairman of the remuneration committee of Synstar International plc. He is currently chairman of Encon, the insulation and building products distributor, and also non-executive director and chairman of the audit and risk committee of the Serious Fraud Office.

Alun Griffiths

Non-executive director (chairman of the remuneration committee)

Appointed: 2014

Alun was previously Group HR director and board member at WS Atkins plc, where he enjoyed a 28-year career, having held a number of business management and corporate positions. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.

Alun is also a non-executive director of the Port of London Authority, Anchor Trust, Ramboll Group and the McLean Group.

Chris Holt

Non-executive director

Appointed: 2011

Chris retired in September 2010 from MJ Gleeson Group plc after serving two years as chief executive officer, prior to which he held the position of group finance director.

Chris's experience also includes 17 years with Foster Wheeler Limited as finance director and deputy chairman of the UK subsidiary company and 12 years with Bechtel Corporation.

Chris is a graduate of Leeds University, a qualified accountant and has an MBA from Golden Gate University, San Francisco.